top of page

I'm Not Ok.

I saw this saying the other day, "it's perfectly okay, to admit you're not okay". It has been on my mind ever since. I meet so many people who are afraid to tell others that they are hurting. Society has created an environment where people feel judged and inferior if they aren't at their best. Who goes through their week and NOT feel at times they are not at the place they would like to be. When I work with adolescents I remind them that life is hard and it only gets harder with more responsibilities and roles you accept. When working with couples, I encourage them to ask for help when you need it because relationships include the support of two people. I see many adults who have been the matriarch of their family, the head of their households, the bread-winner, the shoulder to cry, the provider and so much more but struggle to ask for the role to be reciprocated. Why is it that so many people sit in silence, trying to bandage their wounds by themselves?

When my first client ask me on the phone, why should I come to therapy. I was caught off guard. After hearing just a bit of their situation, I thought why wouldn't you come in. There are so many misconceptions about what it means to see a counselor, therapist, psychiatrist, psychologist, and other mental health professionals. What I try to help potential clients see is that if we are all honest with ourselves, there are times when we just hit a slump. We aren't at a place we want to be because something has happened in our marriage, with our children or parents, in our family or in our life. As a therapist, my hope and goal is to help you through the struggle and emotions that come along with it. When parents have said it all and don't know what else to say. When couples have argued, cried, fussed, fought and been through so much and nothing is changing. When you have tried to keep a happy face, do it all, hold it in and it's bringing you to near destruction . It's perfectly okay to admit when you're not okay. Say it to yourself; believe it because it's true.

I believe that once you have affirmed this for yourself, it will be easier for you to admit it to others. One you admit it to others, there will be people to support you and if you can't find anyone I can help support you. Don't try to do it all. Don't sit in despair. Don't act like nothing is wrong. Let's talk about it. Let's process through it. Let's get a handle on this together.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page